Two More Ugly Ducklings

14 Jun

Hello!

Two more dishes that look… well, not so yummy, but tasted great.

First:

applegrapefruitpie

A classic apple pie, but I added the juice and pulp of a nice, ripe grapefruit and seasoned the whole thing with some thyme. Doesn’t sound too convincing, I know, but due to the grapefruit I didn’t want to season with cinnamon, and I tried to think of a flavor that works with tart and sweet likewise. The pie was really good! I know that fruit in combination with ‘unusual’ herbs are old news, but to me this is something I’ll probably attempt more often in the future.

Second, a crepes-filled-with-asparagus-and-ham casserole:

aspcrepes

This took some prep time – make the crepes, cook the asparagus, roll together with the ham, make a white sauce, combine everything, cover with cheese, and bake… phew! – but it was worth it, and I was surprised at how light it was, despite the cheese. We ate this with a fresh green salad, and it really was a nice summer dinner, despite being a casserole.

So, that wraps it up. And, what did we learn, class? That good food doesn’t have to be good-looking. Just like people, you know. Because, I don’t know if you knew this, true beauty comes from the inside.
Ok, goodbye now.
xoxo, F.