Little Bethmanns

2 Nov

Howdy,

have you ever had a ‘Bethmännchen‘? The literal translation is ‘little Bethmann’, and it is a delicious little marzipan cookie, similar in taste to amaretti, but bigger and softer. They are a specialty of Frankfurt am Main, Germany,where I used to live for a while, and since over the last year or so I have developed a fondness for marzipan (I used to hate it), I made a batch of them over the weekend and they were AWESOME. Yes.

Ingredients:
makes 25 or so

7 oz. marzipan, store-bought (about a cup)
1.7 oz. powdered sugar (about 3.5 tbsps.)
bitter almond extract to taste; I used about a teaspoon
1 egg white
3.5 oz ground almonds (about half a cup)

chopped almonds for decoration
1 egg yolk
1 tbsp. milk

Directions:
Combine marzipan, powdered sugar, almond extract, egg white, and ground almonds, and knead into a sticky ball of dough. Form into walnut-sized balls and set them on a papered baking sheet.

Preheat your oven to 400°F.

Decorate the dough balls with three pieces of almond each, and brush with an egg-milk-mixture.

Bake for about 15 mins., until lightly brown. Let cool before eating (if you can wait that long).

I can’t think of much to say; if you like marzipan, almonds, amaretto and the like, you will like these cookies. Promise.

xoxo, F.

p.s. Yes, I am aware that instead of bitter almond extract, rose water is originally used. Here’s a recipe (which I haven’t tried).