Strawberry Layer Cake

16 May

Good afternoon!

It is Saturday, the sun is shining. I am in the mood for cake! So I make one – this simple, yummy layer cake with fresh strawberries.

tortecloseup

I saw a picture a cake like this last week, in a magazine. It didn’t include a recipe, but I thought: “If I were to make this, I would bake a simple sponge cake, cut it, and fill it with strawberries and whipped cream.” Which is basically what I did – and it turned out really well. Here we go:

Ingredients:
3 eggs, separated
3/4 cup flour
1/4 cup corn starch
1/2 cup sugar
1 stick butter
1 tsp. baking powder
1/4 cup sparkling water (or milk)
pinch of salt

1 pound fresh strawberries
3/4 cup whipped cream, very stiff
3/4 cup quark cheese
3 tbsp. sugar
1 tbsp. lemon juice

Directions:

In a bowl, combine the egg yolks, the sugar, and the butter. Whisk into a thick, yellow cream, until the sugar has dissolved.
In a second bowl, mix the flour, the starch, and the baking powder.
In a third bowl, whisk the egg whites with the salt until very stiff.
Preheat your oven to 350° F.
Stir the flour mix into the yolk mix; then add the sparkling water. Lastly, add egg whites, stirring slowly. This should result in a nice, homogeneous batter. Pour into a (round) cake pan, and bake for about 30 mins., until the cake turns light brown and a tooth pick comes out clean.
Let the cake cool.

cake

In the meantime, wash and slice the strawberries. Yummy! I have to admit I ate a few right away.

strawberries

Mix the quark, the whipped cream, the lemon juice, and the sugar (add some more sugar if you don’t find it sweet enought).
Now comes the tricky part: slice the cake, vertically. Slice it once, if you want to play it safe, or twice, if you like to take a risk. I attempted a three layer cake, so I cut it twice. And I have to admit I did mess it up a little, but the good part is: no one can tell once the cream mix and the strawberries are on top.
Finally, you guessed it, build your cake, in layers. Keep in a cool place until serving. Truly yummy!

2 Responses to “Strawberry Layer Cake”

  1. Friedl May 17, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    Looks beautiful !

  2. Sathya May 17, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Mmm, looks delicious. Great idea to quark, I like it.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

