Beer Cocoa Muffins

5 May

Hello there!

beermuffinsdone

Yes, it is true – these muffins are made with beer. I don’t know about you guys, but I have never baked with beer before. But I love drinking it, and I also love baked goods that are chocolaty and not too sweet. And, it turns out, this is the perfect recipe to fulfill these desires.
This is my version of a recipe I found on the wonderful food blog Bread and Honey. This is certainly one of my favorite blogs! It is full of beautiful pictures, and as much a celebration of cooking as of eating (which I find very important). Anyways, I did a couple of things differently: I left out the coffee (because I didn’t have any at home), and the frosting (because I wasn’t in the mood for frosting). Here we go:

Ingredients (makes 12):

1/2 cup dark beer
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup cocoa, unsweetened
1 cup brown sugar

1/2 cup sour cream
1 egg
1/2 tbsp. vanilla extract

1 cup all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsps. baking powder

beermuffinsprep

Directions:

In a small pot over medium heat, heat the beer and the butter until the butter has melted; stir. Remove from heat; whisk in the cocoa and the sugar.

beermix

In a bowl, mix the sour cream with the egg and the vanilla. Fold into the beer mix.

In a second bowl, combine the flour and the baking powder; fold into the batter.

Preheat your oven to 350° F.

Pour the batter into your muffin pan, and bake for 25 mins.

beermuffins

Aren’t they beautiful? I decorated mine with some caramel bites. And, you ask, do they taste like beer? Not really. I find they have a very chocolaty, malty taste. I love them! And I will certainly make them again.

xoxo, F.

One Response to “Beer Cocoa Muffins”

  1. oneshotbeyond May 5, 2009 at 6:47 pm #

    I do not know about the beer but your presentation of these is stunning…seriously stunning!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

