Handmade Pasta

30 Apr

Good morning, my dear readers!

Last night, I made fresh pasta. Without a pasta maker, simply with my good ol’ two hands and a rolling pin. It turned out so well that I thought I’d share it here! And very simple, too. I used Jamie Oliver’s recipe, which made me skeptical at first, but it worked very, very well. I have to admit that although I do love Jamie Oliver as a persona (who wouldn’t? only someone without a heart), and his approach to cooking and food, most of his recipes I have tried did not really deliver on their promise of ‘simple and fast.’ But this, my friends, really is simple, and tasted delicious. I don’t have a pasta maker, so I went with Jamie for the dough, and then used common sense and a rolling pin from there. Here we go:

Ingredients:

Use one egg and a 3/4 cup of flour per person.
pinch of salt
drop of water

Directions:

I a large bowl or on the counter top, knead the eggs, the flour, and the salt into a smooth, elastic dough. If need be, add a little water (not more than a teaspoon at a time). Form into a ball.

Wrap in plastic wrap, and put it into your fridge for 30 mins. In the meantime, you can make the sauce or the salad or whatever. I served my pasta with a tomato sauce, old school. Basically, I sauteéd some chopped onions and garlic, added tomato paste and sliced zucchini, stirred, added canned tomatoes, stirred some more, and then let the sauce simmer until it thickened. Season, and serve. Oh, I put in some sundried tomatoes, too, because they had been sitting in the fridge for quite a while and this was an opportunity to make use of them.
Aaaaaanyhoodle, when the dough is chilled, remove the wrap and cut it in half (the dough. not the wrap). Then, on a lightly floured surface, roll out the dough portions, as thinly as you can manage. I was amazed at how well this worked, the dough was really elastic, and didn’t fool around.

pastadough2

Then roll the flat dough into a roll, and cut into slices. I aimed for a linguine-type pasta, so I cut mine pretty small, maybe 1/2 inch wide.

pastadoughroll

After that, unroll the slices, and store them on a lightly floured plate or whatever (I used the plastic wrap) until cooking.

pastacut

In a large pot, bring water to a boil, add some salt, and the pasta. Cook for approx. 5 mins., drain, and serve!
Here’s how ours looked:

pastawsauce

Yes, this was really good. Writing this post made me hungry again. Thank God there’s leftovers!

6 Responses to “Handmade Pasta”

  1. Anita N. May 3, 2009 at 7:35 pm #

    This looks so wonderful! I’m so glad to have found a recipe for pasta without any of those confusing looking pasta machines. I will be trying this recipe very soon!

    Question: can you provide any tips for incorporating things like spinach or even making other types of pasta with this dough?

    • frike May 3, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

      The recipe (from Jamie Oliver’s Jamie’s Kitchen) says that the dough can be used for ravioli and tortellini as well, and I am inclined to believe this, because, as I said, the dough really was amazingly elastic. I myself will definitively give it a try. Concerning adding spinach: I must admit I don’t know, I haven’t tried it… but I don’t see why not. I’m thinking that some pureéd spinach would probably make some nice green pasta! With regard to taste, it probably wouldn’t make much of a difference.
      I’m glad you like the recipe!

  2. Amanda May 4, 2009 at 2:58 am #

    Looks delicious! I have been wanting to makes homemade pasta for quite some time but I also do not have a pasta maker and it just seemed so hard, but this looks quite easy! Will have to try soon. One question, I have not been cooking for long so this may be a stupid question, but do you really mix the flour and egg together with your hands in the beginning?? Thanks for your help and for posting this! :)

    • frike May 4, 2009 at 11:45 am #

      Yes, the beginning is a bit messy, but it works! Simply ‘stir’ a little with your hands, and the flour will fall into the eggs, and you can start kneading.

  3. Lindsey May 5, 2009 at 8:17 pm #

    This looks so easy and delicious, it’s almost too good to be true! I’ve been dying to try making my own pasta, and don’t want to buy the attachments for my mixer or a hand rolling machine, since neither option is very cheap.

    I’m going to have to attempt this soon!

  4. gaga May 10, 2009 at 12:04 am #

    Wow, I’m impressed, no pasta machine? You got it so thin with just a rolling pin, it looks great!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

